Area voters head to polls on Saturday

Area voters will head to the polls on Saturday to decide several ballot items across the region.
Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.
If you don't know where to vote, you can find that information HERE.
The general election will be May 3. Any run-offs will be decided on that date.
Today's Country 105.7 will have live coverage of the election, starting around 8 p.m. Saturday, so tune in.

Below are the ballot items:


DeRidder mayor -- Robert “Bo” Rice and “Ron” Roberts (incumbent).
DeRidder council, District 1 -- Kimaron Haynes Moore and Steve Brand.
District 5 constable, justice of the peace -- Aratemious “T” Bailey and Danny Cole (incumbent).
Beauregard Parish Law Enforcement District Parishwide -- A parishwide 10-year, half-cent sales tax renewal for salaries and benefits for deputies.

Law Enforcement District Proposition (1/2% Sales Tax Renewal)
Shall the Law Enforcement District of the Parish of Beauregard, State of Louisiana (the "District"), under the provisions of Article VI, Section 30 of the Constitution of the State of Louisiana of 1974, Chapter 26 of Title 33 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended, and other constitutional and statutory authority, be authorized to levy and collect, a tax of one-half of one percent (1/2%) (the "Tax"), (an estimated $2,660,643 reasonably expected at this time to be collected from the levy of the tax for an entire year), upon the sale at retail, the use, the lease or rental, the consumption, and the storage for use or consumption, of tangible personal property and on sales of services in the District, all as provided by state law, for a period of ten (10) years, from and after October 1, 2014, with the proceeds of the Tax (after paying the reasonable and necessary costs and expenses of collecting and administering the Tax) to be dedicated and used towards the payment of the salaries and benefits of deputies?


Leesville mayor -- Rick Allen and Robert Rose (incumbent).
Councilmen-at-large (2 to be elected) -- Ernest “Ernie” Kickel, Alice Guess (incumbent), Joe McKee (incumbent) and William R. "Coach" Thomas.
Council, District 1 -- Charles Randall Haymon, Chris Robertson, Sharon Wilhelm and Edmond “Sandy” Guynn.
Council, District 2 -- Glenn Garner and Willie Mae Kennedy (incumbent).
Council, District 3 -- Danny Dowd (incumbent) and Ryan Keeton.
Council, District 4 -- Mike Elliott (incumbent) and Robbie Giles.
New Llano councilmen (five to be elected) -- Carolyn H. Todd (incumbent), Charlotte Cooper (incumbent), Charlie Balthrop (incumbent), Aaron Dickerson, Terry Speicher (incumbent) and Ervin Wilson (incumbent).

View sample ballots HERE.
Filed Under :
Topics : PoliticsSocial Issues
On Air Now
Mike Holt
7pm - Midnight